So close and yet so far: Africa, Europe’s Neighboring Continent

My relationship with Africa is a literary one, because in literature the longings, dreams, fears and hopes of people can be seen. And the farther these stories, novels or poems have already carried me for decades, the more remarkably the cultural wealth of this continent unfolds, the more familiar their distant passions, wishes, worries and values. Africa, so far and yet so near.

Books | New publications

In the Heart of Darkness or: The Danube Flows Through Africa – A Very Personal Statement

FROM: SZENE AFRIKA [AFRICAN TABLEAU], BRANDES & APSEL VERLAG, FRANKFURT AM MAIN 2012

For me, Manfred Loimeier, Africa begins in Lower Bavaria. This is where I was born. And the Danube is a river that flows through Africa – much like the Congo in the Heart of Darkness. I was born in Passau, at the time a symbol of underdevelopment and political backwardness, and the icon of disastrous flooding.

Read more >


Manfred Loimeier Archive

The Manfred Loimeier Archive consists of 35 binders containing newspaper articles, interviews, reviews, information, manuscripts, printouts of Internet pages, and numerous other documents connected with African authors or African literature, which author, journalist and literary scholar Manfred Loimeier collected between the early the 1990s and the year 2010. In the summer of 2010, Manfred Loimeier donated this collection to the Jahn Library for African Literatures at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz.

Registration for the ML Archive >

So nah und doch so fern: Afrika, Europas Nachbarkontinent.

Mein Bezug zu Afrika ist literarischer Art, denn in der Literatur werden die Sehnsüchte, Träume, Ängste und Hoffnungen der Menschen sichtbar. Und je weiter mich diese Erzählungen, Romane oder Gedichte seit Jahrzehnten schon tragen, je beeindruckender sich der kulturelle Reichtum dieses Kontinents entfaltet, desto vertrauter werden mir die fernen Leidenschaften, Wünsche, Sorgen und Werte. Afrika, so fern und doch so nah.

Aktuelles

News icon

Im Verlag Bibliothek der Provinz erscheint
Ende Oktober mein neues Werk als Herausgeber:

"Sommernachtsträume. Essays zu Büchern, Filmen und Theaterstücken von Herbert Achternbusch" - Eine Würdigung zum 80. Geburtstag des Künstlers

MEHR ERFAHREN: > https://www.bibliothekderprovinz.at/buch/7378/

Bücher | Neuerscheinungen

Im Herz der Finsternis oder: Die Donau fließt durch Afrika –
Eine sehr persönliche Nachbemerkung

AUS: „SZENE AFRIKA“, BRANDES & APSEL VERLAG, FRANKFURT AM MAIN 2012

Afrika beginnt für mich, Manfred Loimeier, in Niederbayern. Dort kam ich zur Welt. Und die Donau ist ein Fluss, der durch Afrika fließt – ähnlich dem Kongo im Herz der Finsternis. Meine Geburtsstadt ist Passau, zu meiner Zeit dort Symbol für Unterentwicklung, politische Rückständigkeit und Sinnbild für Überschwemmungskatastrophen...

Weiterlesen >


Manfred-Loimeier-Archiv

Das Manfred-Loimeier-Archiv besteht aus 35 Aktenordnern mit Zeitungsartikeln, Interviews, Rezensionen, Informationen, Manuskripten, Ausdrucken von Internetseiten und zahlreichen weiteren Dokumenten zu afrikanischen Autorinnen und Autoren bzw. zu afrikanischer Literatur, die der Journalist, Autor und Literaturwissenschaftler Manfred Loimeier von Anfang der 1990er Jahre bis 2010 gesammelt hat. Im Sommer 2010 hat Manfred Loimeier diese Sammlung der Jahn-Bibliothek für afrikanische Literaturen überlassen, um sie so für die Forschung zugänglich zu machen.

Anmeldung zum ML-Archiv >